By default, Google automatically deletes the location and search history

By default, Google automatically deletes the location and search history

Google location: On Wednesday, Google announced major changes to its standard data practices for new users, including a significant increase in the company’s desire to automatically delete data.

In a blog post announcing the changes, CEO Sundar Pichai highlighted the company’s commitment to privacy, security and user selection. When we develop our products, we focus on three important principles: the security of your information, the responsible use of it, and control over you, Pichai wrote. Today we are announcing privacy enhancements to support this. also read Acer gets a spin for the premium Chromebook based on Project Athena

SUNDAR PICHAI, CEO of GOOGLE, said the changes are related to “keeping information safe … and controlling you.”
Google’s auto-delete feature applies to your search history (web or in-app), location history, and voice commands that have been recorded through Google Assistant or devices such as Google Home. Google records this data on its My Activity page, where users can see which data points have been collected and delete certain items manually. In the past, Google has kept this information indefinitely. In 2019, however, the company introduced the possibility to automatically delete data points after three or 18 months, depending on the selected setting.

As of today, these settings are enabled by default for new users. Google sets search on web applications and automatically deletes them after 18 months, even if users don’t take any action. Google Location History is off by default. However, when users activate it, an 18-month deletion program is set by default. also read Amazon Prime Video could soon offer live TV content

The new default settings apply only to new users. Existing Google Accounts settings will not be changed. However, will also promote the option on the search page and on YouTube to get more users to check the auto-delete settings. Automatic deletion can be enabled on the Activity Control page.

The system extends to the history of YouTube. However, the default is set to three years to ensure that the platform’s recommendation algorithms can use more comprehensive data.google

In a way, the new settings are a trade-off between user privacy issues and Google’s business interests as an advertising network. The latest user data is also the most valuable because it can be used to target people who are recently familiar with a particular product. they were busy. By keeping the last 18 months of activity, Google can keep most of this advertising value, while deleting most of the data that would otherwise be available.

In addition to the new default settings, Google also makes it easier for users to use Chrome’s incognito mode, so that mobile device users can switch to incognito mode with a long tap on the profile picture. The feature will launch today on iOS and will soon be available on Android and other platforms.

Also Read

Google confirms that its competitor Air Drop is coming soon

The new Snapdragon 4100 from Qualcomm offers urgently needed improvements for the next Wear OS watches

NASA has created a necklace that reminds you not to touch your face